TRLS NEEDS YOUR HELP

How can you help your library?

 

The Mississippi Library Commission is at risk of having its annual budget cut by the Mississippi Legislature. The funding to the Library Commission directly affects the Tombigbee Regional Library System in the form of grants, supplemental funding, and consulting services as well as many other invaluable resources. Cuts to the state agency mean cuts to your libraries in the Choctaw, Clay, Monroe, and Webster counties. Below are the legislators that serve these counties. Please take some time to call or write them and let them know how much you love your public libraries and how important they are to your community!

Advocacy Talking Points:

  • Libraries are part of the solution when a community is struggling economically. From free access to books and online resources for families to business centers that help support entrepreneurship and retraining, libraries support lifelong learning.
  •  Libraries have tremendous responsibility in bridging what we call the digital divide to ensure that all people, regardless of their socioeconomic status, have access to the content they need – no matter what format that the content comes in.
  •  Public libraries are the number one point of online access for people without internet connections at home, which current data shows to be the case for approximately 95 million Americans. Libraries are often the first point of contact in helping people with very serious needs – from housing to jobs to food assistance.
  •  Many people question the need for libraries now that we have the Internet, but libraries are busier than ever! The most current national data shows that visits to public libraries for free books, to borrow DVDs. to learn new computer skills, to conduct job searches, and more.
  •  Libraries are among the most effective of all public services, serving more than 2/3rds of the public with less than 2 percent of all tax dollars.

Sources: American Library Association and Public Library Association

Governor:
Phil Bryant
governor@governor.state.ms.gov
601-359-3150

Lieutenant Governor:
Tate Reeves
ltgovernor@senate.ms.gov
601-359-3200

Speaker of the House:
Philip Gunn
pgunn@house.ms.gov
601-359-3300

Mississippi Senate:

Hob Bryan District 7
hbryan@senate.ms.gov
662-256-9601

Angela Turner Ford, District 16
aturner@senate.ms.gov
662-494-6611

Gary Jackson, District 15
gjackson@senate.ms.gov
601-359-3244

Charles A. (Chuck) Younger, District 17
cyounger@senate.ms.gov
601-359-3246

Mississippi House of Representatives:

Jim Beckett, District 23
jbeckett@house.ms.gov
662-983-7358

Chris Brown, District 20
crbrown@house.ms.gov
662-369-8745

Gary A. Chism, District 37
gchism@house.ms.gov
662-327-0777

Tyrone Ellis, District 38
tellis@house.ms.gov
601-359-9396

Karl Gibbs, District 36
kgibbs@house.ms.gov
662-494-3669

Daniel Stephen (Steve) Holland, District 16
sholland@house.ms.gov
662-840-5000

Joey Hood, District 35
jhood@house.ms.gov
662-285-4663

Jeffrey C. (Jeff) Smith, District 39
jsmith@house.ms.gov
662-328-2711